Skip to main content

Ways to Update an Existing Audience

When you upload additional files for a particular audience, LiveRamp will update that audience in one of the three ways listed below, depending on how the audience has been configured:

  • An incremental update (the default configuration), in which data from a new file is used to extend and modify the previously onboarded data for that audience. In this type of update, if you upload data for a previously-onboarded segment, any new members would be added to that segment. If you upload data for a new segment, that segment would be created in Connect. No previously-onboarded data would be removed.

  • A segment "refresh", in which a new file completely replaces all the previously onboarded data for any field that has the same name as an existing field in that audience. If a previously-onboarded field is not part of the new file, that field will not be affected by the update.

  • A full "refresh", in which a new file completely replaces all of the previously onboarded data for that entire audience. Any previously-onboarded segments that are not present in the new file will still be present in Connect but will have no members.

    Caution

    If you upload single-segment files (sometimes referred to as “file-wide fields”, where all the members of the file are members of the segment) into a given audience, do not choose the “full refresh” option for that audience, as each upload will remove all of the segments from previously-uploaded single-segment files.

See the "Example Scenario" section of this article for more information about how these options would impact subsequent file uploads.

Incremental update is the default configuration. To change the update option for a particular audience to either segment “refresh” or full “refresh”, create a support case (see "Using the LiveRamp Community Portal" for instructions).

Note

Segment refreshes and full refreshes do not affect existing distributions. Any refreshed segments that were being distributed will continue to be distributed, but with the newly refreshed data. You do not need to set up the distribution again.

Most LiveRamp customers update their files on a monthly basis, but we can also handle more frequent file uploads. However, if you select the “full refresh” option, uploading new files too frequently (such as more than once a day) can result in files inadvertently overwriting each other. For example, yesterday's file might still be in the process of importing into LiveRamp due to its large file size. If today's file imports quickly (because the file size is much smaller than yesterday’s file), today's file will inadvertently be overwritten once yesterday's file is finally processed.

Caution

Sticky Data: Apart from distributions through Record Sync-enabled destination accounts, LiveRamp will not remove data from partner platforms you may have distributed to when performing a full refresh; cookies may remain active.

For more information on Record Sync, including how Record Sync works with the various audience update options, see "Keep Destination Data Fresh with Record Sync".

Example Scenario

Let's say that the first file you upload in a given audience (like the file shown below) contains data about two fields, "Owns Car" and "Likes Cats."

Note

For a more detailed distinction between a field and a segment, see our sections on field and segment in "Onboarding Terms and Concepts".

CustomerID (used as the Audience Key)

FIRSTNAME

OWNSCAR

LIKESCATS

54213

Bob

Yes

No

67539

Carol

Yes

No

90823

Dan

Yes

No

81205

Steve

No

Yes

45021

Sarah

No

Yes

Note

The example files shown in this section do not include all necessary identifier columns and are intended only to give you an idea of how segment membership is affected by the various update options. The “Customer ID” field is used as the audience key in these examples and is used to determine when a newly-uploaded record is the same record as a previously-uploaded record.

Uploading this first file creates two fields in Connect:

  • Field "Owns Car", with the following segments:

    • Segment “Owns Car=Yes”, with members Bob, Carol, and Dan

    • Segment “Owns Car=No”, with members Steve and Sarah

  • Field "Likes Cats", with the following segments:

    • Segment “Likes Cats=Yes”, with members Steve and Sarah

    • Segment “Likes Cats=No”, with members Bob, Carol, and Dan

Then let's say you later upload a second file (like the one shown below) that contains data about only the existing "Owns Car=Yes" segment.

CustomerID

FIRSTNAME

OWNSCAR

54213

Bob

Yes

48308

Saagar

Yes

27803

Andrew

Yes

The table below shows how the members of each segment would be affected by the upload of file 2 in each of the three available update options:

Incremental Update

Segment Refresh

Full Refresh

Impact

  • Net-new members are added to the "Owns Car=Yes" segment.

  • The "Owns Car=No" and both "Likes Cats" segments are unchanged.

  • The "Owns Car=Yes" segment is changed to include only the members included in file 2.

  • The "Owns Car=No" segment is changed to include no members.

  • Both "Likes Cats" segments are unchanged.

  • The members of the "Owns Car=Yes" segment are completely replaced by the members in file 2.

  • All other segments are changed to have no members.

"Owns Car=Yes" segment members

Bob, Carol, Dan, Saagar, and Andrew

Bob, Sagaar, and Andrew

Bob, Sagaar, and Andrew

"Owns Car=No" segment members

Steve and Sarah

Steve and Sarah

No members

"Likes Cats=Yes" segment members

Steve and Sarah

Steve and Sarah

No members

"Likes Cats=No" segment members

Bob, Carol, and Dan

Bob, Carol, and Dan

No members