Skip to main content

Uploading Data

Getting your data into LiveRamp typically involves first creating and formatting files, and then uploading your data to us using one of our available methods.

Note

For more information on getting exposure data from your DSP into Safe Haven, see "Setting Up Your Safe Haven Environment."

Caution

When you're uploading the first file to an audience, you'll need to create a support case so we can make sure your file is imported correctly. Depending on the type of audience and your situation, you might need to do this before uploading your first file or after (or both). See 'Considerations When Uploading the First File to an Audience" for more information.

Although there are many considerations to keep in mind when creating files for uploading, especially the first time you create files, the steps you need to perform can be broken down into the activities listed below (see the information in the articles linked below for specific instructions and details).

  1. Review the types of data that LiveRamp can accept (including our general data restrictions), and determine what data you're going to send. Also, make sure you take the recommended file limits into account.LiveRamp Data Restrictions

  2. Format the data correctly.

  3. Prepare the file for uploading (including file naming, compression, or encryption).

  4. Upload the file. See “Getting Your Data Into LiveRamp” for information on the various methods available to get your data into LiveRamp.

Caution

Avoid file upload failure! See "Avoiding File Ingestion Failure" and "File Formatting Examples and Templates" to make sure your files don't contain any of the most common errors that cause file uploads to fail or be delayed.

Note

As the members of an existing Customer Profiles segment change, you might want to update that segment to remove the records for those members who you no longer want to be included in the segment. To remove records from existing segments in Customer Profiles, you can upload a "deletion" file to a location that LiveRamp sets up for you (that is different from the location you use to upload files that add users to segments). See "Removing Records from Existing Segments" for more information.