Skip to main content

How LiveRamp Refreshes Distributed Data

To ensure that there is always an up-to-date pool of users in the distribution, LiveRamp continuously updates data distributed to a particular destination, including new devices (cookies and mobile devices) seen in our match network.

Refresh Options for Destination Accounts

Destination accounts have refresh options for each identifier type. When you activate a destination account, its default options are suitable for the majority of its workflows. The Destination Account Configuration and Edit Account pages display these options when you click Show Refresh Settings in the Identifier Types section.

Caution

Only Admin-level users can change these options. The default options for each destination account should not be changed unless you have a thorough knowledge of the impact of these settings for specific custom workflows. Changing the default options might result in your data not being properly refreshed.

The following refresh options are available:

  • Active Refreshes: If this option is enabled, we’ll send any data on new devices or new associated devices to the destination (this is typically the primary refresh mechanism). New devices might be present because you uploaded a new file or because you added segments to the distribution.

  • Backlog Deliveries: If this option and the Active Refreshes option are both enabled, we'll resend a portion of your existing data (backlog data) so that the destination partner doesn’t expire it (such as a cookie) because they haven’t seen it for a certain amount of time. By default, the full backlog will be sent within a month regardless of refresh cadence.

  • Backfill On New File Upload: If this option is enabled, we’ll resend all the data for that distribution each time you upload a new file to any of the audiences that contain segments distributing in that destination account.

See “Edit or View Destination Account Settings” for information on viewing or changing a destination account’s refresh options.

Types of Data Included in Refreshes

When the data that is being distributed to a destination is refreshed, three types of data might be included (depending on the refresh options selected for that destination account):

  • New devices (devices associated with new records that have been added to the original distribution)

  • New associated devices (devices we’ve seen for the first time in our match network since the last refresh)

  • Backlog data (a portion of your existing data so that the destination partner doesn’t expire that data (such as a cookie) because they haven’t seen it for a certain amount of time)

    Note

    By default, the full backlog will be sent within a month regardless of refresh cadence.

Note

New data and changed data are sent both when the Active Refreshes refresh option is enabled and during a backfill if the Backfill on New Import option is enabled. Backlog data are only sent when the Backlog Deliveries refresh option is enabled in conjunction with the Active Refreshes option.

For information on viewing delivery status for a particular destination account, see “View Delivery Status”.

How Refreshes are Triggered

Refreshes can be triggered in a number of ways:

  • Whenever new data are uploaded for existing segments that are currently being distributed to a destination (when the Active Refreshes refresh option is enabled and during a backfill if the Backfill on New File Upload option is enabled)

  • Whenever you select "Resend Active Segments" from the destination account page, to resend all active segments (see "Resend Active Segments" for more information)

    Note

    To be able to resend active segments yourself in Connect, create a support case in the LiveRamp Community portal to have this enabled.

  • Whenever new segments are added for distribution to the destination account

  • For cookie-based destinations, whenever 5 days have passed since the last data refresh (when the Active Refreshes refresh option is enabled and during a backfill if the Backfill on New File Upload option is enabled)

  • For mobile device ID-based destinations, whenever 15 days have passed since the last data refresh (when the Backlog Deliveries refresh option is enabled in conjunction with the Active Refresh option)